Why Play Scorps?

by Cody Ortega

Why play with the New England Scorpions Baseball Organization?

How are we different from your current AAU / Showcase club?

What we are…what we are not…


1. The Scorpions Baseball Club is NOT simply a local AAU group. We were founded in 1994 and we are a National Baseball Organization with affiliates throughout the country. We are the New England affiliate. The Scorpions are generally considered one of the top Youth Travel and College Showcase Baseball Organizations in our country as is evidenced by decades of developing college talent and draft picks.

2. Our Head Coaches are NOT little league dads. Our AAU Head Coaches are well paid Non-Parents… mature, professional, highly qualified and experienced, fair and objective. Our College Showcase Head Coaches are past College baseball players and/or coaches with proven track records.

3. Our staff of instructors that work with our teams are all current or past college coaches and/or players

4. Our AAU teams are NOT comprised of players mainlyjust from one or two Little League. Our AAU teams are comprised of top players from all throughout RI and SE Mass. Our College Showcase teams are comprised of players from all throughout New England plus New York.

5. Although we field very competitive teams at all ages, our #1 organizational goal is NOT to win games but to DEVELOP our players physically, mentally and emotionally… develop their baseball skills but more importantly develop them into young men who carry themselves with poise and maturity on and off the field. We want our players as a minimum to be standout players on their Little League All-Star teams, their Middle School teams and their High School teams.

6. Our top AAU players go on to play in our NEW ENGLAND SCORPIONS COLLEGE SHOWCASE PROGRAM… and proof of our player development competence is that in the past 7 years, more than 70 New England Scorpion players have committed to play college baseball through our development and guidance.  Commitments include the University of Notre Dame, the University of Houston, the University of Maryland, Bryant University, the University of RI, the University of South Florida, Boston College, Harvard, UCONN, University of Alabama-Birmingham etc..